by Radio Music Songs on June 18, 2011

(source: from official Press Release)

america BP 150 AMERICA EXPLORE BACK PAGESIconic Grammy-winning rock group AMERICA, led for four decades by Gerry Beckley and Dewey Bunnell and as active as ever with over 100 live shows worldwide a year, will release a new album, “Back Pages”, on July 26 (Entertainment One Music). The album was produced by Fred Mollin (Jimmy Webb, Kris Kristofferson). It is a collection of a dozen interpretations of songs by Bob Dylan, Rod Argent, The Buffalo Springfield, Simon and Garfunkel, the Beach Boys, Jimmy Webb, Mark Knopfler as well as Fountains of Wayne, and New Radicals, among others (see track list below). Upon hearing AMERICA’s version of his song “Caroline No”, Brian Wilson said: “An absolutely stunning version…I almost got tears.”

For all their success as hit writers of enduring rock-folk-pop classics like “A Horse With No Name”, “Sister Golden Hair”, and so many others, Gerry and Dewey have never created a project that paid tribute to their favorite songs and songwriters, until now.

The song list stretches back in time to the ‘60s British Invasion (The Zombies’ “Time Of The Season”), right up to right now;
“A Road Song” , a brand new Fountains Of Wayne song, is the focus track of “Back Pages”.

“America’s new version of my bridesmaid “Crying In My Sleep” is the best ever,” says songwriter Jimmy Webb. “In a reasonable world this would be a top ten record. Beckley is on top of his game and still sounds eighteen. Production values here are over the top.”

In many ways, AMERICA’s journey in music, still very much in progress, reflects the story of a whole nation of listeners for whom the tunes on BACK PAGES continue to matter. The album offers a fresh take on timeless songs and proves that, for all of their own rich history, America still has the ability to surprise and enchant us. As one of the most beloved groups in the history of pop continue their 40th Anniversary Tour this spring, summer and fall, they maintain a large and devoted fan base.

Track List (including writers and the artists who popularized the songs)

1. America (Paul Simon; Simon & Garfunkel)

2. A Road Song (Adam Schlesinger and Chris Collingwood; Fountains Of Wayne)

3. Woodstock (Joni Mitchell; Crosby, Stills & Nash)

4. Caroline No (Brian Wilson; Beach Boys)

5. Someday We’ll Know (Gregg Alexander; New Radicals)

6. Sailing To Philadelphia (Mark Knopfler)

7. Crying In My Sleep (Jimmy Webb; Art Garfunkel)

8. Time Of The Season (Rod Argent; The Zombies)

9. Something In The Way She Moves (James Taylor)

10. On The Way Home (Neil Young; Buffalo Springfield)

11. Till I Hear From You (Gin Blossoms co-wrote with Marshall Crenshaw)

12. My Back Pages (Bob Dylan)

Leave a Comment